Attack! 47 Reuben and WALTs Part 3

Welcome to ATTACK! 

ATTACK! is a two-page occasional publication giving attention to the curriculum – the holistic curriculum.Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 5.05.37 PM

ATTACK! is for you, also to introduce to your colleagues. Each issue will be restricted to two pages. A cover graphic for a file or folder to store ATTACK! issues is available.

Most of ATTACK! will be concerned with the holistic curriculum which, if acted on, is a fundamental way to undermine the present undemocratic education system. Don’t be discouraged if opportunities to teach holistically are limited, do your best, be a guardian, and act as a witness to this culturally significant and inspiring way of teaching and learning.

To get in touch for comment, questions, and the ATTACK! issues to be sent to you personally:  ksmythe@wave.co.nz

Attack! 47 Reuben and WALTs Part 3

Click here to download

This entry was posted in Attack and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Attack! 47 Reuben and WALTs Part 3

  1. Bruce Hammonds says:

    No room for Reuben in our school system; no room for creative thinkers and no room for creative teachers.

    • Margaret Lange says:

      A lesson in my class last week started at Matariki day and moved on to Greek Gods, Achilles tendons, physiotherapy, through various other topics and ended up with a lively and very inclusive discussion about why some twins are fraternal and some are identical.

      The WALT for that lesson, if I’d wanted to play the game and had one, would probably have said that we are learning to be aware of how the Maori celebrate their new year or the like, or it could have said that we are learning to be discerning listeners, to ask questions of each other, to make connections, to make thoughtful responses, to think outside the square, to feel safe to make an off-the-wall comment etc etc.

      I can asses the children’s progress against the first WALT. I can’t assess what they learnt against the second WALT in a way that an outsider could understand. I can assess it in my head, but how do I write that down and why do I need to? I’ve watched my children’s confidence grow over the year but it’s nothing I can put my finger on or assess in a way that gives a National Standards’ level to their growth.

      I have never been comfortable with WALTS, LIs and SCs. I rarely know the direction my lessons are going to take and I don’t want the creativity and the buzz to be restricted by the limitations of the minutia of WALTS and the like. What I do know is that my children are becoming assertive, passionate and independent thinkers. The mantra in my room is that we will be curious, be independent and be brave. That’s the best WALT ever.

      • Kelvin says:

        Thank-you Margaret. Inspirational. Reuben would have been alive and well with you. Thanks again for sharing.

  2. John Carrodus says:

    Alas Kelvin, the ideas in this story are far too big for even the largest brains in our near terminal education system. There is no place for unspecified profound learning combining intellect and silly sentimental emotion on this scale. Good god man, what are you thinking about? This approach is far too humane for our brave new world!

  3. Bruce Hammonds says:

    I am with Margaret. It only when you go beyond the WALTs that true learning begins. All WALTs provide is sterile conformity Learning is always going beyond.

Leave a Reply

