Desperate Facebook message from Peggy Burrows calling for your help

From Kelvin Smythe:

Regular readers will know what this is all about. Peggy stood out from a couple of board members who wanted to sell land assets for capital developments (for which the school was due). Peggy, said no, it can’t legally be sold for such a purpose, it must, one way or another, remain a structured investment. It all seemed to be settled with a new board when, out of the blue, the minister gained a sudden appreciation of the assets and not understanding their legal protection saw a chance to use them for the school capital investment. The minister will deny it but that was the spur for Peggy to be suspended and later dismissed. The proof of the minister’s intentions was the significant amount of lawyer activity around the sale of the assets and various statements and actions of the commissioner upon Peggy becoming suspended.

An important background is that Katrina Casey, deputy secretary Enablement and Support, also the minister, are under dire legal threat as an outcome of their behaviour in the Marlene Campbell case won by Marlene. A raft of lawyers is slowly being picked off in the courts as a result of lawyer behaviour. Eventually that will extend to the minister and deputy secretary.

If the minister and deputy secretary can’t bully, scare, and frighten off Peggy, their futures and reputations will be seriously at risk.

Everything will be thrown at Peggy: she needs your support.

Peggy posted this message on Facebook:

Peggy Burrows:

I need your help. Please don’t just ‘Like’ this post. I am asking you to share it with your entire Friends list.

Why?

Because I am being bullied and I am asking for your help. It may be that after this long weekend I will find myself gagged again.

Ask yourself why we don’t hear about the horrors of what happens to principals who are exited from their schools?

Answer – because there is a silence of compliance – but the compliance is dictated by a carefully constructed culture of fear and threats.

I am being threatened again to be silent. I am yet to receive notification from the Employment Relations Authority as to their ruling on the request made to them this week that I be re-gagged.

I believe this Facebook Page provides a forum for free speech in our country.

So what has happened to me this week in this 20 month campaign of horror?

1. I received notification from the Teachers Council today that a ‘mandatory’ notification regarding my dismissal has been made. So after 37 years of service to New Zealand Education I find myself having to defend myself in that jurisdiction as well.

2. I have been accused of attempting to use social media to unfairly influence possible witnesses.

Let’s call the 1300 plus people who signed the petition to reinstate me if they are looking for witnesses. I know 95% of those individuals personally and taught many of them over three decades ago as a young graduate. How well do my current accusers know me?  not at all.

Why am I putting myself through this nightmare?

Because:

a) I am not the person the minister of education was told I am.
b) My board did not deserve to be dismissed.
c) I have not done anything that would warrant this level of abuse and bullying.
d) Some very good people have been hugely hurt and damaged by this whole horrible process.

Included below is an overview of my story so far. I have been accused of inappropriately sharing this information on social media. Free speech cannot be considered inappropriate surely.

It is nothing more than an overview of what I have been coping with over the past 20 months.

It is not me campaigning; it is me providing factual information in a climate of silence and innuendo.

If I find myself chastised in the Employment Authority for telling the truth on a Facebook Page then we really do have a problem in this country around free speech.

None of the links below were produced by me. I have merely provided them to you in the hope that you will take the time to please share them.

I would like Paul Finch [Support Peggy Burrows Facebook Page co-ordinator] to be able to send the petition to the Minister of Education in September with 2000 signatures on it.

We have 700 signatures to find before then and can only do that if you help.

Thank you for your support and kind words as I meet you out and about in Rangiora.

When people say to me, ‘This is dreadful and we are right behind you,’ show me that you are by sharing and posting on the Parent Support Facebook Page – Support Peggy Burrows TV1NEWS. ‘Like’ the page and post – don’t remain silent please.

What really happened at Rangiora High School?

Remove the Commissioner and reinstate Peggy Burrows as Principal of Rangiora High School with immediate effect.

Sacked Rangiora High School principal Peggy Burrows in for ‘fight of her life’

Part 1 Rangiora is about the government dismissing a principal to get at the school’s assets

Part 2 Rangiora is about the school’s assets: in which I set out to nail Peter Hughes

Ladies and gentlemen: in the bout between Peggy and Hekia we have a winner

 

This entry was posted in Political and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Desperate Facebook message from Peggy Burrows calling for your help

  1. Jan Rhoades says:

    I have followed the emails of Kelvin Smythe on the plight of Peggy Burrows and her fight for her school funds against a Ministry onslaught…I have concluded that this is a Ministerial Rape of school property/funds…where is Education NZ at in 2016…
    AND…how do they treat staff/employees?

  2. Megan Cairns says:

    I fully support you Peggy Burrows

  3. Heather Taylor says:

    I fully support you Peggy. This kind of bullying is intolerable.

Leave a Reply

