Crisis, principal capitulation and only to the extent it protects the powerful and wealthy

Only to the extent … Posting 3

What was to be posting 3 (Hekia, a speech of hers, and why education policy is based on myths, lies, and fear … and to that I should add bribery) is now to be posting 4.

My intuition tells me that principals are capitulating at a rate of knots; without reference to their teachers, and ignoring the pleas of their teacher organisations.

This posting is written in haste but not with any sense of surprise. Readers may remember that in my first postings on the cluster policy I said making voluntary joining the cluster system was a ruse because the government had too many levers, and schools were too vulnerable, for that to become a real choice. But the speed and manner of the capitulation by principals means no matter how much they deny it, principals will feel compromised. That will be a kind of corruption and make it difficult for principals and teachers, all of them, to sustain an idealism and resistance in the years ahead.

The motivation for this posting is that my source within the ministry tells me special needs funding in schools is going to be severely slashed.  Special needs teachers, those wonderful people who give so much and such a pittance in return are going to hurt.

My source tells me that this is the first of many cuts to services as a way of recouping the expenditure on clusters. And later, pay rises for teachers will be limited to 1% if not less. The informant believes special needs teachers were targeted first as a payback for their agitation and protest marches. As for pay rises, the government is anticipating a much weakened NZEI as a result of principals going against NZEI policies, and EDUCANZ forbidding teachers and principals speaking out on government policy. As well, the government is going to say, if you want more money, become a lead or expert teacher.

I know there will be those principals who will complain that this special needs reduction was not signalled before the election. Well, it was, but in neoliberal government style, obscure in language and secret in announcement. It was in Hekia’s speech to the Iwi Chairs Forum in November, 2013, I was going to warn you about it. She said the cluster system would mean much less need ‘for interventions’. That was it; don’t say she didn’t tell you.

I am getting many emails from distressed principals, especially of small schools, saying the bigger principals are meeting together, doing deals with the ministry, and then calling all principals together as though a done deal.

These are dangerous times, we must stick together.  I am simply urging principals to listen to the teacher organisations.

I am urging you to not give up and not give up on my postings – even though I am going wider in my topics. Posting 2 in the series carries most important messages.

In 1999, I spoke to a group of principals. My main message was that they support their organisations and don’t give way in their thinking even if, in the end, they have to give way in some of their actions.

After that, I dropped out for a number of years, biding my time to when I would return. At my age, I don’t have the time to do that again, so will hang in there – after all, comparatively, there is a stronger base for an ideology of freedom and resistance to be pursued.

I urge you to stay strong, not necessarily to the bitter end, but while things pan out. Think of this special needs imbroglio as your future and the children’s.

This entry was posted in Education Policy, Political and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crisis, principal capitulation and only to the extent it protects the powerful and wealthy

  1. Paul Johnson says:

    I have not heard of cluster talk happening around me Kelvin, but in saying that, I am one of the smaller schools. I am very concerned about the state of play and agree that we need to support our organisations and maintain their integrity and strength in tense, distrustful times. I’m personally worried about cyber invasion and of course, a drone like education system. TUANZ shutting down professional scrutiny is terribly worrying too.

  2. kellyned says:

    Hi Kelvin
    There is no question that this is happening. I know of a large secondary school, lead by a government loving principal, that has set up a proposal and then called all primary schools to a meeting. However my hope lies in the fact that no one wants to work with that principal (for obvious reasons) so if any proposal goes ahead it will not be around that school. Further to that many primary schools are talking so as to keep in the loop but have no serious intention of going ahead if they can avoid it.
    Also no one seems to be very keep to take any of the lead roles anyway. So a cluster with no leaders is not a cluster at all!
    Strange times.
    That was a very precise reading of Hekia’s speech and I am sure you are correct as to her intentions. “much less need ‘for interventions’ indeed. As our district becomes poorer and increasingly distressed, our need for interventions is rising!!

  3. John Carrodus says:

    Perhaps one way out of this mess – outlined in this and your last posting, would be for a group of Principals with principles – and their boards to take a class case against the Minister and her office on the grounds of unequal and inconsistant application of government resources and policy implimentation, specifically in relation to public education delivery within Charter Schools. Perhaps to either or both UN and the Crown. The issue really boils down to two enities embodied in the one Ministry, one entity trying to kill the other.

Leave a Reply

